Przygonski and Gottschalk set the pace in ORLEN Baja Poland opener

(30.08.2019) Kuba Przygonski (MINI John Cooper Works Rally), the winner of 2018 Baja Poland, was the fastest on first stage of Polish World Cup counter, held today in Szczecin. Adam Tomiczek (Husqvarna 450 FE) outpaced his rivals on motorbikes, while Marcin Talaga (Can-Am Renegade 1000R) clocked fastest time among quad drivers.

Short, but spectacular test in the northern part of the city opened the high-speed off-road battle in ORLEN Baja Poland 2019. Top contenders pushed hard from the very beginning of the event, just like they promised during pre-rally press conference. Przygonski and Gottschalk in MINI John Cooper Works Rally took the first place. 2018 FIA World Cup winner was 2,5 seconds faster than Krzysztof Holowczyc and Lukasz Kurzeja in the same X-Raid-run machinery. Third fastest were the leaders of Polish championship, Czech-Slovak crew Miroslav Zapletal/Marek Sykora in their Ford F-150 Evo pick-up.

It was a disappointing start for World Cup leaders Orlando Terranova i Bernardo Graue (MINI All4Racing). Argentinian crew is already 23,9 seconds adrift of first place, after they finished 7th overall on 7-kilometre stage in Szczecin.

Among bikers it was Adam Tomiczek who showed the most impressive pace during event opener. ORLEN Team representative managed to outpace his team-mate Maciej Giemza and Tiago Santos.

Quad drivers category was dominated by Poles. Marcin Talaga, Remigiusz Kusy and Andrzej Pieron took three top places respectively.

Saturday is a crucial day in ORLEN Baja Poland, as crews head to compete during two runs of 220-kilometre test at the military range in Drawsko Pomorskie.

After the first stage, top ten drivers chose the start order for tomorrow’s stages. Krzysztof Holowczyc, five-time winner of Baja Poland went for the first position, while Przygonski decided to go just after Holowczyc. Zapletal will be third on the road, followed by Vanagas, Vasilyev, Terranova, Maluszynski, Molgo, Hozak and Navarro.

ORLEN Baja Poland – standings after SS 1:

1. Przygonski/Gottschalk (MINI John Cooper Works Rally) 5:59,2 s
2. Holowczyc/Kurzeja (MINI John Cooper Works Rally) +2,5 s
3. Zapletal/Sykora (Ford F150 Evo) +8,6 s
4. Vanagas/Rozwadowski (Toyota Hilux) +10,8 s
5. Vasilyev/Zhilcov (Toyota Hilux) +17,5 s
6. Maluszynski/Maluszynska (MINI John Cooper Works Rally) +20,7 s
7. Terranova/Graue (MINI All4Racing) +23,9 s
8. Molgo/Jandrowicz (Ford F150) +25,5 s
9. Hozák/Kilian (Hummer H3 RS) +39,6 s
10. Navarro/Sola (Can-Am Maverick X3) +39,7 s




Szczecin     Dobra Szczecińska     Drawsko Pomorskie


Titular Sponsor

General Sponsors

Media partner



 Mercedes Benz Auto Bogacka